The Washington DC Alumnae Chapter (WDCAC) was chartered in 1921 by nine dynamic women in the District of Columbia with the purpose of promoting Scholarship, expanding Sisterhood and providing Service to the community. These courageous charter members used their multi-talents, skills, education, sheer will and determination to marshal the resources of their membership totaling 12 to implement social, cultural, and service programs in the 1920’s in Washington, DC. These initial programs and projects served Freedman’s Hospital (now Howard University Hospital) and the underserved residents of the city by providing magazines, books, stamps, letter writing, and food baskets during Thanksgiving and Christmas; and offering tutorial classes in English. The Chapter had a prominent role in the arts and culture of the city through annual spring plays, Jabberwock, and the highly successful library program, under the leadership of Past Chapter President, Annie E.  Duncan. These efforts afforded access to the literary world for many who previously lacked such access. The accomplishments resulting from the Chapter’s service projects were showcased during Delta Week which became May Week, and subsequently Public Meeting.

Today, with a roster of more than 800 members, WDCAC is one of the largest chapters in the Sorority and a member of the “Dynamic and Historic” Eastern Region. The National Headquarters of Grand Chapter is located in Washington, D.C. WDCAC members are obliged to uphold the banner by contributing to the rich history of our Chapter, which was birthed from a vision of nine innovative women and chartered 92 years ago. Fully supporting the legacy of our Charter Members through the Chapter’s programs and projects and our Sorority’s five point programmatic thrusts; Economic Development, Educational Development, International Awareness and Involvement, Physical and Mental Health, and Political Awareness, we are positively transforming lives and impacting the community which stretches across the length and breadth of our city. We are committed to uplifting, reaching, and profoundly making a difference to honor our charter members and leave an indelible imprint upon the Chapter’s esteemed history.


Charter Members

Established February 3, 1921
Beta Beta Chapter

Dorothy Pelham Beckley**
Grace Coleman
Louise F. Denney
Thelma Green
Edith Brinkley Howard
Jennie Beard Shief
Eliza Pearl Shippen*
Elsie Brown Smith
Florence Letcher Toms*

* Founders of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

**2nd  National President

(all Charter Members are deceased)

You must be logged in to post a comment